Cassino to Punta del Diablo, Sunday, 31 March 2013 to Monday, 1 April 2013, Day 271 to Day 272

In Paraguay they had pigs around there national monument so new country Uruguay new monuments this time bulls!

Another good nights kip in the tent I packed up and I am heading to Chui in Brazil or is it Chuy in Uruguay to cross the border into my final new country on this trip. I had found a hostel on the my GPS in a place called Punta del Diablo, (Devils Point) which I like the sound of.

Pleasant enough ride a huge fire in the distance and some interesting wild life around to keep me interested.

      

I hit the border and there are long queues at immigration and some folks doing some market research on folks experiences and trips whilst in Brazil which helped to kill a bit of time but I was finding it difficult to remember where I had been and even harder to remember how much I had spend and it was embarrassing on telling folk how much I earn especially when compared to local wages here. It made me think what a bloody fortunate chap I am I am not short of a bob or two and I am whizzing around on me bike without a care in the world.

I was a bit confused when I got through to the Brazilian side as I was expecting the Uruguayan customs next but there was a town of Chuy or was it Chui and or had I missed the Uruguayan customs so I was thinking of doing a U turn when I figured out I am still in Brazil and its still some while till the Uruguayan border and for some reason they have put the border post well before the town. So I decided to fill up with Petrol and I got into another ruck with some bloke jumping the queue arrogant tosser who thinks as he in a big car he can jump the queue so I call him on his arrogance and of course he is all apologetic as if he did not realise what he was doing was wrong which pisses me of even more when folks do something wrong and they know dam well they are doing something wrong and they start apologising without really meaning it. No sir I do accept your apologises and you sir are an arrogant fucker who should not be allowed out in polite society. Philly is hot and sweaty and looking for a ruck and I scared the hell out of this poor fella I am not a violent person and I am total pacifist at heart but I look like I could do some damage and I have a gob on me that is quite ruthless if required which can get me both into trouble and out of trouble depending on the situation and this fella needed to be brought down a peg or two.

I need to chill and cool down before hitting the Uruguay part of the border which was a breeze a nice chap doing the formalities so I am back in a better mood in no time and its only a short ride to Punta del Diablo my destination just because I like the sound of the place.

Fun and games as usual with GPS!

My GPS was doing it usual trick of not wanting to cooperate and had been directed me in a huge loop to my destination which I kept ignoring so I was 30km away from were I wanted to be and it was telling me I was 288km away.

I found out why later as the road I was travelling on turned into a runway for airplanes for the military so Mr Garmin did not see this as a road and kept on redirecting me I just followed the road signs!

Before Punta del Diablo there was a nice fort called Santa Theresa where I stopped for a while and for a look at first they tried to charge me to get in then it was free which was confusing but I spent some time here before heading to the hostel in a cool little seaside town which had a really cool vibe to it.

Went for a short walk looking for food and then back to the hostel and I am just chilling there.

Punta del Diablo

As I had loads of time on my hands I had decided to spend another day here and I woke up had my free breakfast weather is dull and overcast so I hung around the hostel for a while in the hammock reading and then I went for a long walk along the gorgeous coastline which was nice. I had a late lunch/early dinner than back to the hostel and just chatting to the folks there.

Kite Surfing on my to do list another sport Philly can be crap at 🙂

    

There where so many request from my fan base out there for pictures of Philly on a surfboard so here you go.

Leave a Reply

