Porto Alegre to Cassino, Saturday, 30 March 2013, Day 270

Leaving Porto Alegre

Oops I have let this slip so a mad catch up is needed  it must be because I am so close to the end that this is no longer a chore that I cherish but I will persevere on behalf of my loyal fan base and I hate reading blogs or ride reports that just end in the middle with the last bit omitted or the end of the story missing so I am determined not to let this happen with mine, I even have some plans on adding a couple of extra pages with the Finances, Accommodation list, Cost and kit reviews but I digress lets get back to the story. A weird day I had two options of a final destination and I was unsuccessful with both and I ended up putting my tent up in the dark.

So the original destination was Pelotas uneventful run there tried a few hotels but all rather expensive and I was not getting a great feel from the place and I had a plan B which was Rio Grande so pulled the plug on Pelotas but I first checked out the beach to see if I could find affordable digs there. Nope there was not much going on there either so onwards and forward to Rio Grande. So no Candy festival in Pelotas but there was the festival of the sea in Rio Grande, which made finding accommodation for Daisy and I nigh on impossible. Tried loads either too pricy or full or no safe parking. So what was supposed to be an easy relaxing day was turning into a pain in the ass. Eventually I decided to pull the plug on Rio Grande and head for Cassino the next town down the coast. All of the above had taking a lot of time and it was getting dark. On my way into Cassino I spotted a campsite but I first wanted to try and get a bed for the night in Cassino but no joy there either so back to the campsite and I am putting my tent up in the dark.

So my original plan had failed and I am back under canvas it has been a while. I went back to Cassino for my dinner a nice Lomito sandwich and then back to my tent with my kindle for the rest of the evening.

Was passing what looked like a modern block of flats but on closer inspection turned out to be a multi-storey graveyard!

Leave a Reply

