Taubate to Rio de Janeiro, Monday, 11 March 2013, Day 251

Gorgeous run through the mountains 🙂

A lovely run through a nice mountain range to Rio but then for the last 60km riding through suburbs and towns which where chocker block with gridlocked traffic so hard work as it was hot as hell again.

I finally made it to town and headed to an address in Ipanema that allegedly there where a load of hostels on a private street near the centre so safe parking for Daisy. Yes it was a closed street but for some reason they did not allow me to park my bike down there as seemingly some of the residence on the street objected to this I am guessing, as I was a hot sweaty mess they just did not like the look of me. I tried another place down the road and yes they had a place for me and safe parking for Daisy a bit expensive for a hostel but they did have a swimming pool and this is in one most expensive areas in Rio.

Triple decker bunks!

So have signed up for 3 nights to discover the delights of Rio I may stay longer as I am no longer in a hurry to be anywhere.

Ipanema Beach loverly walk.

I had a dip in the pool which was glorious as I was boiling and later I walked the length of Ipanema beach which was nice I am pinching myself as I am in Rio Baby and it is a rather cool place and I am looking forward to the next couple of days 🙂

Leave a Reply

