Cafayate to Salta, Thursday, 28 February 2013, Day 240

Loverly ride and great scenery!

Nice breakfast in the courtyard no hurry another short run this time to Salta and its already very hot. I hit the road and wow what a road it is even better than yesterday if that’s possible the scenery is stunning. It feels like I am driving through the Wild West gorgeous red rocks and canyons and a lovely twisty road following a river cutting through this wonderful landscape.

      

I am sure its my right of way try telling this lot that!

Arrived in Salta at about 3pm and I found a hotel and asked if they had any safe parking yes they did only problem is that I had to drive through the front door and lobby to access it no problem me as Daisy and I have done this many times before, so it is up the curb up another steep doorstep after removing the panniers to reduce my girth (if only it was that simple for me as well!) a sharp left in front of reception desk then a sharp right watch out for that mirror and Daisy is safe and sound for another night. Chatting to the guy at reception about routes to the Salt flats and he highly recommends the Ruta 40 which is about 150km of ripio (dirt) and I tell him me no gusto ripio (I do not like dirt roads) and he replies quite rightly welcome to South America get used to it which is a great response and he is right I am probably missing loads due to my aversion of dirt roads so I am sort of considering giving the Route 40 another bash.

  

Today is laundry day and whilst this is being done go for a long walk around Salta taking in all of the sights. Another pleasant city and walk and another great day on the bike makes me think on keeping going but deep down I know its time to call it a day as I know not all days will be like today and I will not have the energy to deal with the bad ones so in my head I have set a date of the second week of April and Philly and Daisy are coming home back to real the world and I need to find a job!

Before all of the serious stuff and after collecting my laundry back to the hotel working on this and then out to the main square for an ice cream and another short walk I am enjoying what is left of my trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

