Sierra de la Ventana to Azul, Thursday, 14 February 2013, Day 226

Hills did not last long back in the flat lands with the odd interesting view but mostly flat.

Happy Valentines Day for those of you celebrating and bah humbug if like me and you are on your own in some place called Blue. (Azul)  The good news is I am writing this blog on the same day as it happened so that means I am finally up to date with this until tomorrow. I am also doing this without my glasses as well as I have left them at a restaurant so I have got Word on a huge font so that I can read what I am writing why I would want to read this drivel I have no idea 🙂

More Sunflowers

      

unmanned railway crossing normally whiz across them without thinking about it every now and again a huge is train crossing I must pay more attention or I will get squished.

So remember yesterday all the science that went in selecting my camping spot well I woke up slowly being cooked no shade what so ever I had miscalculated the height of the tree and the trajectory of the sun and I was wanting a bit of a kip in but to bloody hot bugger. So up and away quite early to a place called Azul to a Bikers place run on donations that I had heard about called http://www.laposta-azul.com so a short day today as I have been doing some big mileage days for a while. Pretty scenery which was short lived and back to the boring flat agriculture scenery and it’s hot and the wind is still having a poke at me every now again. So a boring ride again I am not enjoying myself that much at the moment especially with loads of serious dull miles. There are moments of interaction that I am enjoying but the boring bits are getting longer and I am not sure if this will change anytime soon so my thoughts are moving to pulling the plug and going home I think old Phillys has run out of steam or needs another goal and target to aim for as the last couple of days have not been much joy on the bike and I do not want this last bit to be the last impression I recall of this trip as that would be a dam shame so I need to figure out how to get the joy back into this trip not just in the evenings but during the day as well. I have been fighting the wind my invisible enemy for ever never knowing when it was going to give me a another nudge at the wrong time and this is using a lot of energy and I am mentally very tired so this needs to be addressed as well.

Very YMCA type policeman in my view!

So I am very happy when I pull into the La Posta and its empty and has a very quite peaceful garden it looks like a place I can stop and recharge my batteries and see if I can get my head straight and try to find my happy mojo which I know is there somewhere it is just hiding from the wind. (the place is full of rabbits wandering all over the place:-))

I was hoping for a bed but it is back in the tent as Jorge reckons it will be cooler there than in the bunkhouse, which is like an oven. I set up camp and then I wander into town as I am in need of some liquids as its hot and I found a Internet café with a decent connection so spend a good while uploading pictures and getting parts of this published which was enjoyable having an Internet that actually worked.

I went for a walk and found a nice place for dinner on the square but the cook will not be in till 8.30pm so I order a Lomito which is a meat sandwich which I keep ordering and I do like but I still do not have no idea what it is but so far always its always been lekker.

yet another nice sculpture!

I head back to the La Poste and realise that I have left me specs at the restaurant and it’s a good 20 minutes walk back into town so I will pick them up in the morning as I have decided I am staying here another night as its Friday night tomorrow and Jorge has invited me to a BBQ and another day on the Internet and then this will be up to date the tent is definitely in the shade so a lie in may be a possibility so I am looking forward to a lazy day tomorrow but it already sounds quite busy to me oh well.

I am on my own in an empty clubhouse and its nice having the place to myself which is often hard to find when you are on the road that little place to just chill and do your own thing just like you would do in your own house so it is that bit of privacy that you are missing you spend a lot of time on your own but your not really on your own and its moments like this that I like and miss and which I cannot always find.

So beddy byes enough drivel for now.

Names says it all!

Jorge has just popped into say hello and he say’s that the route north and north Argentina is totally different to Patagonia and its much more interesting which is a huge relief and he says that its not just me that has my head done in by Patagonia it does his head in as well so that is a relief and I am so glad that the scenery will get more interesting again heading north 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sierra de la Ventana to Azul, Thursday, 14 February 2013, Day 226

  1. Liesbeth

    Ja, is ook wel een goed idee; om weer eens thuis te komen. Ik vind het nu wel eens leuk om je verhalen te horen in plaats van te lezen. Het blijft wel een heel bijzondere reis. Het zou mooi zijn als je die ook nog bijzonder kunt afronden. Ik ben benieuwd.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

