Puerto Santa Cruz to Rada Chilly, Sunday, 10 February 2013, Day 222

Oh give us a bit of room here trying to have a kip!

Up pack up tent fettle with chain which had not some how fixed it self during the night it is not getting any better if anything worse. Mission today was to try and get some pictures of flamingos and Ostriches succeeded on one account. Wind stronger today making stopping and taking pictures a tad difficult and I only saw one set of flamingos and not in an easy place to pull up and take a picture.

gotcha not easy taking photos of these elusive little buggers:-)

  

On the way into Puerto San Julian I saw a motorcycle club so pulled over for a look and a chat. Got chatting to a large Harley Rider called Arturo I think and he says I am welcome to stay at the club overnight and have dinner but its only 1pm and I want to be a lot further north, he says he is leaving in 2 hours and there is another club in Comodoro Rivadavia and that I can stay there it is a bit further than I had planned but doable he asked if I wanted to ride with him but I did not want to wait as the wind was still strong and getting stronger and I reckoned he would be faster than me so he would eventually catch me and pass me and I also had the address so was sorted. I hung around for Mate Mate as they call it here and then hit the road trying to look cool whilst pulling away in front of a large group of bikers problem was it was through deep gravel so I wobbled my way to the main road tried to wave and toot me horn not the graceful exit that I had planned. Thanks for the Mate and offers of food and accommodation it is much appreciated.

Long day in the saddle high mileage day and when I went to plug the address of the motorcycle club into the  GPS it does the usual no matches found bugger its late I am tired so plan B GPS does have a municipal campsite in a place called Rada Tilly so lets head there as the wind is getting stronger and more difficult to manage it could also be that I am tired as well. I saw a lot of cars parked on the side of the road and until now it had been folks stopped for fishing this time there was huge colony of seals and sea lions so pulled over and watched these huge things lolling on the beach for a while.

Seal and Sea Lion Colony Nice!

      

Back on the road again blown into Rada Tilly I found campsite not bad a bit dusty but the site is sheltered so this will be home for the night. Go for a walk along a huge and gorgeous beach looking for food I find a pizza place and its empty and they charge extra for eating in so I get it to go and go and sit on the beach where I am treated to a gorgeous light show as the sun goes down so thats a pizza, a diet coke, gorgeous view and wonderful light after a long hard day in the saddle not bad me thinks 🙂

Gorgeous sunset again and interesting stone sculpture.

Back to the campsite, which has Wi-Fi so I am sitting the campsite office trying to get photos uploaded and chatting to the bloke from the local council on how they can get more folks to come to Rada Tilly and about building websites. It’s a nice place lovely beach but the bloody wind never stops blowing but it is great for kite surfing and cart surfing I think that’s what you call it. We talked about a USP for the place on how to differentiate from other towns along the coast which there are many. So another pleasant evening and then back on my hands and knees crawling into the tent 🙂

Pizza, Diet Coke and this whats not to like 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Puerto Santa Cruz to Rada Chilly, Sunday, 10 February 2013, Day 222

Leave a Reply

