Valparaiso to Santiago, Saturday, 19 January 2013, Day 200

Phillys Back up truck with a couple of spare tyres you did not think this was a solo effort!

So I needed to go to Chile capital Santiago I was not sure I was going to stop there or not but Daisy needs a service and I might get see some of the Dakar Rally so a short run from Valparaiso to Santiago. Its cold damp and misty when I leave and is like this all the way to Santiago so I do not see much of the scenery so stick to the motorway all of the way. I head to a Hostel I have an address for check in there chat with the guy and he says there is a Motorcycle event in a park round the corner because of the Dakar Rally so that this afternoon itinerary sorted and he says that the finish and podium of Dakar is just round the corner in the other direction so that Sundays Itinerary sorted as well but first an Oil filter and a service for Daisy that needs to be sorted. I headed to the street the nice chap in Vina del Mar had told me about and he was a right loads of Motorcycle shops of all shape and sizes all I need to do is find the Suzuki one. I find one and they are just shutting but if I can come back on Monday they can do a service and yes they have all the parts I need and they give me a price for the work. So I check a few other place and the labour quoted seems to be in the ballpark and they are the only Suzuki dealer I can see on the street so will come back on Monday and get Daisy sorted.

Back to the hostel out of my bike gear and walk to the park expecting a big motorcycle gathering but all I find is a theme park I am on the wrong side of the park so I walk round the huge park and find the event. It turns out to be the park ferme for the Dakar Rally so it is all fenced off you can see in from a distance but you are not allowed in I did try to blag my way in but failed. You could see the competitor’s vehicles coming in off the final stage as the road was closed of but it is not that interesting so I took some photos and I went for a walk to a huge market and shopping mall I had seen on my way into town and I then went for the food hall for my dinner and than walked some more and finally back to the hostel sitting in there in a nice backyard updating this.

Finally caught up with the Dakar

2 thoughts on “Valparaiso to Santiago, Saturday, 19 January 2013, Day 200

  1. Jim

    200 days already well done. I’m sure the Paris-Dakar boys would give the bike a quick once over if you asked them nicely. Really enjoying the blogs 🙂

    Reply
    1. Phillip Beckwith Post author

      Could not get anywhere near the Dakar boys unfortunately Daisy could do with some new tyres and some serious TLC oh well she will have to wait just like the rest of us!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

