Arequipa, Friday, 11 January 2013, Day 192

Who else looks in the mirror and sees this or is just me 🙂

Well as I did not have to be up early I enjoyed me nice big room and I had a bit of lie in. Then I headed up to the hotel http://www.lagrutahotel.com home of http://www.perumotors.com where I was to me meet with Carlos the mechanic who was going to sort out new tyres for Daisy.

Carlos and Eddy turned up and I followed them to the workshop, which was pretty large, with lots of rental bikes. Yes they did have a large selection of tyres but they all looked a bit ropey to me and were being stored in the sun but I guess beggars cannot be choosers. The first problem was that the 90/90/19 front tyres they had needed an inner tube and I am running tubeless and the only inner tube they had in stock was 110/90/19 inner tube it is a shame they did not have that size tyre. I was not going to risk putting a big inner tube in a small tyre this is a recipe for disaster so me and Eddy got on his little 250 Honda trails bike and we hit the streets of Arequipa looking for the right size inner tube and or a larger front tyre. Now I hate riding pillion at the best of times but on the back of a Peruvian local through his local town I can tell you I was shitting myself we never had so many close calls in such a sort space of time. I guess he knew what he was doing but I did not so I had my eyes closed for most of the time 🙂

We went to a couple of small bike shops no joy on a bigger tyre and we where going further and further away from the shop and I was getting more nervous on the back when eventually we found a tubeless 100/90/19 front tyre so back to the shop (One handed on the back of the bike now as I was now carrying a new motorcycle tyre) where Carlos had already fitted the rear 140/80/17 so not quite spec but should work! (Famous last words specs is 110/80/19 and 150/70/17 so even if you do not know about tyre specs you can see that front is thinner by 10mm and higher by 10mm and the back is also thinner by 10mm and higher by 10mm so some synergy there but that means that bike is 10mm higher and that all I need with my already to short legs this is going to be interesting that is for sure)

Eddy set to work on the front I was expecting a bit more delicate handling but nope loads of brute force and hammers no tyre changing equipment just tyre levers and using of the side stand of another bike to break the bead. All this works but I was expecting something more professional probably it is much better if I was not around to watch and just get the finished product as I was cringing as he had his full weight on one of the brake disc on concrete floor as he tried to pry the old tyre of.

Was expecting a big higher tech but this works!

Next job was an oil change but they only had 10/50 oil and Daisy likes 10/40 so I declined on this (I was not really confident in their ways of working if truth be known).

I got 2 empty oil containers to be used as extra fuel cans for the next bit of the trip, as fuel may be more scares as I head south.

So all done and dusted so how much did it all cost. I had paid for the front tyre already and had the price for the rear one from Lars plus a bit of labour.

The tyres were half the price I paid last time in the US and they where reasonably cheap there so if this experiment with size’s fails I will be not be too much out of pocket.

Back to the Hostel and I spent the rest of the afternoon wandering around Arequipa in the drizzling rain. Pleasant enough town but I am ready to hit the road and a new country I have been in Peru to long and I need a change.

Arequipa main square nice!

Choices Choices Choices

Leave a Reply

