Abancay to Cusco, Friday, 4 January 2013, Day 185

What do we need to stop for this time?

Another landslide

Waiting for the road to be cleared.

A short run to Cusco Alex and Andrea where couch surfing and I had a name of a hostel so a late start. The problem is that I have lost my ability to sleep in so was up and awake by 8am and we had agreed to leave at 10am so I went for some breakfast on my own and had a lasagne and a meat pasty and a cup of milky coffee (please note I had no supper last night so I was starving Marvin) Back to the hotel where I borrowed a hammer as I had to fix my panniers that had taken a beaten over the last couple of weeks. Twice I had hit a wall going through the narrow roads they have for motorcyclists at the toll booths and I hit a motorcycle taxi a couple of days ago in traffic all with the right pannier. Yesterday I noticed that the lock was no longer connecting so it needed adjusting as it had been knocked out of place and today I was going to knock the dent out and try and seal the hole that had been made as the panel had taking a large shunt so I am happily banging away at my pannier with a large hammer with my bike parked in a hotel lobby. I sort of seal the gap it will need some taping as well. By this time A&A where up so I decided to go and have breakfast with them as well (I had just a coffee which turned out to be bloody expensive) while they where eating there breakfast I decided to do an autopsy on my middle set of gloves. My summer gloves had holes in them and my middle gloves which I have had for years where no longer fitting well the lining had become twisted making it difficult to get them on and of and the little finger never felt right so I decided to change these from middle to summer gloves by cutting out the lining. They’re where two linings a waterproof layer and a cotton layer that I kept whole so that I can use these as extra layer in these gloves or in my winter gloves if it really get cold. So I have a new set of summer gloves without holes in them they are still covered with lots of glue from the lining but this will soon be gone after wearing them for a couple of days so I had salvaged some extra usage out of these gloves. Why not buy some new ones you ask well gloves are like shoes they are horrible to wear when new and get better with age and usage better in the sense of comfort rather than practicality as they leak and have holes in them but are dam comfortable so I find it difficult to get rid of them and get new ones.

Preparing for bad weather always draws an audience it was pissing down 5 minutes later

So a productive morning and another nice run into Cusco except it decided it was going to rain on us. So out with the wet weather gear and Alex was leading at a slow and sensible pace as the road had turned greasy and muddy and as he had his prize possession on the back (His Computer 🙂 no I mean Andrea!) he was taking no risks which suited me fine as I was not happy pushing it to hard in conditions like this either.

Wet wet wet!

stopped at a Market looking for a sheepskin for A & A

We found the Hostel thanks to the GPS sort of but they where full but then they were not it was a bit strange but I had a bed for the night and a place for the bike after riding down a steep wooden ramp (remember awkward parking places not looking forward on getting out of this one). It turns out that the place is full tomorrow so I can only stay one night but I can come back on Sunday preferably Monday so I needed a plan. So after chatting to a French bloke the plan was to leave Daisy at the hostel and get the bus and train to Machu Picchu and stay there a couple of nights and then come back and spend another day in Cusco.

I had a quick wander around town and then back to the Hostel chatting with some other bikers as this was one of those biker gathering spots looking for info on the road ahead and swapping tall stories as that what bikers do (not me of course as I have no tall stories!)

Bed is me alone in 6-bed dorm still confused about the place being full maybe he did not like the look of Alex 🙂 who was not even planning on staying there anyhow!

Leave a Reply

