Lima to Huacachina, Tuesday, 1 January 2013, Day 182

Oasis in the Desert

So this the first post of 2013 not much different from the last post of 2012 I never understood the fuss made about a new year and new year resolutions you can change your life any day of the week or year why do it specifically today why do folks decide that this is the time for a change it beats me. So today started the same as most travel days on the road up shower, breakfast, pull kit together load bike pull bike out of awkward parking space the last two can be swapped if the place is really awkward plug in destination into GPS curse GPS as destination cannot be found hit road find fuel and or breakfast if not provided at place you are staying. So today start no different from many others on this trip.A bit slower as I am not in a hurry as I am not planning on going far today only to an Oasis in the Desert which is only 300km away.

Leisurely breakfast with Joop say Tata and I am heading out of Lima back into the Desert. Not sure that todays run was that interesting I have been in the desert for what seems to be ages there is sand everywhere. I roll into Huacachina at about 3pm its an Oasis in the middle of a desert surrounded by huge Sand Dunes and streets full of Mad Max buggy’s taking tourist on a blast in the dunes.

      

Loads of Mad Max Buggy taking folks into the Desert I walked!

I head for a Hostel I have the name off and check in there and it is the usual attempt to get double rate price for the bed as it was a public holiday but after a chat with me saying the fiesta was yesterday the price went back to normal so that 13.50 Sols or less than 5 EUR so that’s more like it.

I went for a walk in the dunes doing my usual impression of mad dogs and Englishman go out in the midday sun I walked quite away into the Desert getting funny looks from all the tourists on there Mad Max dune buggy excursions as they blasted past. I had fun mucking around in the Dunes except for all of the sand, which I have mentioned a couple of times it gets in everywhere.

Mad dogs and Englishmen!

I am having dinner when I spot Alex and Andrea it looks they had the same destination in mind as me so they join me and we agree to go and see the Nazca Lines together leaving at 7.30am in the morning not sure why agreed to that time but it is cooler at that time.

  

Curious as to what the Nazca lines will be like my expectations are low so hopefully will be a nice surprise 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lima to Huacachina, Tuesday, 1 January 2013, Day 182

    1. Phillip Beckwith Post author

      Hi Mark the Santa Monica part confused me at first as I did not no any Marks there, yes it is rather spectacular so who knows when I will be back in NL 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

