Lima, Monday, 31 December 2012, Day 181

New Year in Lima

I had a bit of a lie in which was nice and then a leisurely free breakfast, which was not bad for a hostel then on to the Internet, as I had been trying to locate some new tyres for Daisy, but the sizes we need are not readily available in Peru. I Have been offered some Pirellis in Arequipa from a Dutch bloke Lars who runs a motorcycle rental business down there and he has some available so that is a 90/90/19 for the front and a 140/80/17 for the back. Daisy needs 110/80/19 and 150/70/17 so the question is will what’s offered fit and work so it is on to the forums and e-mail to some people who I know may be able to offer advice on this dilemma and as usual when you ask multiple folk you get conflicting answers so I am still none the wiser so I will have a go to see if I can get the recommended sizes here in Lima as I had found some dealers and one was just round the corner so I tried there first but I could not found the place or the address I had was wrong.

Star wars Franchise is not overing any work to R2D2 so slumming it as a bin in Lima

So back to the hostel and more research and dialog and then Joop turned up and I had also been talking to Alex and Andrea and I had arranged to meet them for New Year Eve so I got Joop settled in then me and him walked to Mira Flores to try and find another tyre shop and get some dinner and then to meet up with the Romanians later at the Hilton. Long walk to the dealer I had got my trouser back from the laundry but yesterdays chaffing was acting up 🙂 Dealer had nothing in the sizes I wanted there was one rear road tyre that was the right size but I did not fancy running road tyres on the roads that where coming my way so I need some sort of off road capability so I decided that fate had decided what tyres I was getting are the ones offered in Arequipa he has a fleet of BMWF800GS running this combo and a mate who’s judgement and knowledge I trust said the offered combo should work it would be taller (that is all I need with my stumpy legs) and feel weird but doable so I may regret this decision but this can be rectified down the road if needed. The next question is have I got enough meat left on the existing tyres to do the 3000km to Arequipa and can I find a Suzuki Oil Filter in Peru and if I cannot is that a real disaster mechanically wise. All these questions can be dealt with next year it is time to say goodbye to 2012 so it is off to KFC for dinner and a beer for Joop and a Inca Cola for me (my latest soft drink addiction and yes I am still off the wagon so that’s 73 days without a drink :-)) watching the sun go down.

It does not really feel like New Years Eve ish so we head to the Hilton for a bit of posh and to meet up with Alex and Andrea. Hang around there posh room for a while then head down to bar as they have some complimentary drink vouchers and there is a live dance show going on so we hang around there for a while then head to the cliff overlooking the sea as we have been told fireworks are best seen from there.

Every one in national costume

Very pleasant New Years loads of folks and loads of fireworks and I was sober. We walked back to the Hostel and around Barranco so again I had walked miles again chatting with folks back at the Hostel and finally to bed late night it has been a while since I have been up this late.

Bye bye 2012 I lost a great job but look what I got in its place I am now riding down the Pan American Highway on me bike fulfilling a long time ambition so I guess 2012 was not so bad 🙂 I wonder what little surprises 2013 has in store for me.

Happy New Year faithful blog readers hope this is keeping you entertained if not tough titties 🙂

Leave a Reply

