Medellin, Monday, 17 December 2012, Day 167

Fat Bottom Girls!

I am feeling a little bit better I manage to eat my free breakfast which is two bits of bread and a cup of coffee finally I am brave enough to venture out on the street I have me loo roll with me just in case. I can tell that I have not eaten for a while as I am weak as a kitten but it is downhill all the way to the metro station. I buy 3 tickets wow my Spanish is improving and I got the train to the far side of town where there was a cable car which was also part of the metro system that went up a hill with views over Medellin and the barrio’s below.

Cable Car part of the metro and no skis in site.

      

 

All this done at a very slow pace but I was glad to be out and about. Unfortunately on Mondays the cable car does not go right to the top of the mountain for some reason so I wander around the barrios at the top I did not venture to far as not the safest of neighborhoods loads of needles and syringes lying around and a  couple guys smoking crack so I made sure I did not go of on one my more adventurous walks and I am not sure I had the energy anyhow.

Got the metro to the center and there was an exhibition of one of my favorite artist Fernando Botero and all round one of the squares where bronze sculptures of his. Brilliant not sure why I like his work so much as I am not really in to the tubby large bottoms I prefer mine skinny but I do love his sculptures and paintings of the larger ladies. So an excellent time was had wondering round the square taking pictures and resting quite a lot. I Wandered around town for a while as well its not that pretty but it had a certain charm to the place. I had some Chicken Nuggets for lunch as this practically baby food and joys of joy I sort of managed to keep some inside me so had a little more energy but I still needed to keep stopping for a rest which was fine just sitting watching locals at work and play.

shiney knob everyone touches it for luck!

                                    

I got the metro back and into the supermarket for some tea ravioli and then a slow walk up the hill with a couple of stops on the way. I got back to the hostel exhausted but happy that I was getting better and that the day had not been a waste turned out quite good in spite of my rotten guts. I hung around the hostel, as I did not want to push my luck

Love this chap work 🙂

Leave a Reply

