Ciudad Valles to Molango, Saturday, 27 October 2012, Day 116

view from my hotel window stopped raining for a couple of minutes.

What a difference a day makes yesterday it was excellent even my off road excursion in hindsight was enjoyable but today was totally different. It has taken me 6 and half hours to cover 210km non-stop riding only had one 10 minute break for a petrol and a pee stop. So what was different well for starters it was raining when I got up not heavy but enough to need waterproofs. So I had a leisurely breakfast and finally I hit the road at 11am destination was Pachuca, which was 380km away according to the GPS, I would be there at 5pm so this is doable. In reality it started to rain harder so the roads where like an ice-skating ring covered in mud that had turned to slush the roads are okay when dry but add water and they are treacherous. So I am not getting anywhere fast and the road I have chosen to take is quite twisty and hilly so I am not sure how hard I can push it in the corners as they are all as greasy as hell. Another obstacle impeding my progress is that the road went via loads of villages and in every one of them there are loads of speed bumps. Not just ordinary speed bumps but bumps of all sizes and shapes not one is the same some huge and all of them had to be taken in 1st gear due to the fact that the car or lorry in front of you had always slowed down to a near stop and because of the weather conditions and the fact that they where all over the place there most be hundreds I have had to slow down for today. Very irritating and uncomfortable not sure I like them (I am pretty damned sure I do not like them). To add to this I headed up into the mountains I was riding in the clouds for the last couple of hours so visibility down to nothing in places on wiggly greasy unknowns roads with random speed bumps thrown in for good measure. This was all just about manageable but then add in other Mexican road users such as humans and animals  (Dogs, Cows, Goats, Pigs wandering all over the road) I was frazzled at 5pm about 130km short of my target so I pulled over in a place called Molango I found a nice hotel and got out of my wet gear. Its cold it has been 18 degrees all day, which was nice but feels cooler when you are wet no a/c or fan in the room tonight but do not think I will need it as unlike last night it was 30 degrees I think its going to be about 14 degrees tonight so I may need a blanket.

I grabbed some food in a place next to the hotel which actually looked like somebody’s front room with a couple of tables and a stove for cooking. I had chicken and enchiladas and as they where cooking a huge bowl of rice for some reason and they offered me some, which was also very nice, the chicken however had seen better days.

I went for a wander around town cold and wet and still drizzling so I head back to the room. I am wearing a jumper for the first time in ages I hope its at least dry tomorrow as I think the route I did today was actually quite nice but unfortunately I could not see a thing due to the weather.

Molango

Going to have to have a rethink if it stays like this, as I am not sure I can cope with to many days like today as it is far to stressful.

Halloween

Leave a Reply

