Mathis to Brownsville, Wednesday, 24 October 2012, Day 113

Fishing boat of Corpus Christie gulf coast

Happy birthday to Gillian Dear it is my sisters 50th birthday today. Hip hip hooray and all that. I hope you liked your Michelin man please sends us a picture, as I have not seen it yet only heard about it. She will be thrilled I have just shared her age out there on the Internet thingy but her birthday is also making me feel old to. I had a bit of a lie in after last nights tearing around in the darkness and todays plan was to hit Brownsville on the Border via Corpus Christie as I heard it was nice. I did a short run along the gulf then I headed inland as there are no roads at all along the coast. Inland flat and pretty uninspiring, it’s hot so just spent today plugging away at the miles heading south. I decided to treat myself to a Motel 6 tonight, as it was my last night in the US. This was next to a shopping mall so of to the food court for my dinner I had a nice Chinese and then back to the motel to swot up on the border crossing procedure and get my paperwork in order. Mexico in the morning I am finally moving into the Latin America part of my trip. I am looking forward to this but also I am shit scared of Mexico after all the horror stories I have been hearing from all over the place and from different folks. I have not heard one positive remark about Mexico yet so I am I right to be concerned well I do hope every one has got it all wrong and I am doing the right thing heading through Mexico at this moment in time.

Corpus Christie

Pretty Dull straight flat boring roads!

4 thoughts on “Mathis to Brownsville, Wednesday, 24 October 2012, Day 113

  1. Liesbeth

    Leuk om je blog weer te lezen. Ik ben een paar jaar geleden in Mexico op vakantie geweest en vond het wel een prettig land om te reizen. Het enige vervelende dat we hebben meegemaakt is roadblocks van locals die geld wilden. We hebben niet stoer gedaan en gewoon geld gegeven. Dus zolang je niet te mean of the stubborn bent is er niets aan de hand. Misschien een uitdaging maar niet meer dan dat.

    Groetjes,
    Liesbeth

    Reply
    1. Phillip Beckwith Post author

      Volgen mij zijn dat geen roadblocks maar de mensen zijn alleen geld aan het verzamelen voor een goed doel. Ik ben ze vaker tegen gekomen meestaal bij een van de vervellende road humps hebben mensen een stuk touw over de weg gedaan om mensen te stoppen en te laten doneren. Ik rij meestal met een glimlach en en zwaaiende hand gewoon langs zal veel te ingewikkelde zijn om elke keer te stoppen handschoenen uit doen om naar mijn los geld te komen. Tot nu toe allen maar glimlach terug van die mensen die begrijp dat het te ingewikkelde het is momenteel zijn er veel kinderen de aan het verzamelen zijn voor Halloween of fiesta des doods

      Reply
      1. Gill & Clive Dear

        Hi Fi, your older sister here but the younger of the two sisters, if that makes sense! Thanks for my birthday mention and for telling all how old I am……. Love my Michelin man, will post a piccy soon. ta ta Gill x

      2. Phillip Beckwith Post author

        To all out there a clarification Gillian Dear my younger sister is only 21 making me 19 this was a typo on by the idiot typing this blog and we at Phillys Big Trip apologise for any inconvenience caused by this error 🙂 Looking forward to seeing the Michelin Man from what I heard it is pretty cool

        groetjes Phill

Leave a Reply

