Houston to Austin, Monday, 22 October 2012, Day 111

Austin Public Art

Back on the road again I am feeling a bit rough which is not really surprising seen as I have been burning the candle at both ends for the last couple of days.I packed the bike, which was easy as I have a system now and everything has a place. I did some tweaking on the layout which when thinking about seemed obvious and a big improvement why it has taking me 111 days to figure this out amazes me and its that embarrassing I am not going to tell you what it is that I did.

where the tears I am leaving!

After a tearful goodbye with my Houston Hosts, (I was tearful they where just glad to be shot of me :-)) it was time to hit the road again. A short day planned as I had not been on the bike for a month so I thought I break myself in slowly. Destination Austin and Texas Hill Country. Not a very inspiring run but nice to be back in the saddle. I arrived in Austin at about 4pm and made tracks for a Hostel just outside of town I booked in there and I headed into town on the bus to see the sights. Austin is the state capitol of Texas so the first port of call was to the Capitol building and I wandered around there for a bit. In the house of senates there was a senator giving a show and tell to a group of cub scouts which was very interesting and I actually learned something. I wandered around town for a while it was hot and I had a hangover so I was not to impressed with Austin it could be the state I was in or maybe as a place it was not that appealing. I had enough so I headed back to the hostel via a supermarket to get some supper and spent the rest of the evening procrastinating. I should be updating this but I did not get round to it.

Austin Texas State Capital

It was quite a late night doing what I have no idea I am back to my dorm room sharing with 14 others and sleeping in a bunk bed which even for a short arse like me I am to big for!  I woke up in the middle of the night wondering what John was doing in my room it turned out to be somebody else rolling back from the pub drunk but when I woke I was certain I was back in John and Angela’s spare bedroom. I am missing Houston and the home comforts already 😦

Cool Bike

2 thoughts on “Houston to Austin, Monday, 22 October 2012, Day 111

Leave a Reply

