Jackson to New Orleans, Tuesday, 11 September 2012, Day 99

Natchez Trace Parkway

Today the final stretch of the Natchez Trace into Natchez which took me a while to find my way back on it. Todays highlight was a couple of dear and I saw a fox which I spent a while watching (from a distance).

Natchez Trace Parkway

 

The plan was to reach New Orleans that evening but it was much further than anticipated (Where have you heard that before) so I spent the last couple of hours riding in the dark which I keep saying I will not do but end up doing it anyhow. So another long day in the saddle but I had already had a couple of addresses for the night so one less thing to worry about. Arrived at Hostel number 1 after being directed through some seriously dodgy neighbourhoods by my GPS and it turned out to be a place that I had stayed on my last trip to New Orleans called India House Hostel. So that was about 15 years ago. It had grown somewhat since I was last there and luckily they had a bed available as I really did not have the energy to go and look at the next place on my list and it was about 9pm ish. I walked to the supermarket for my supper and was surprised at how much I remembered from last time I was here and I spent the rest of the evening chatting with the folks at the hostel.

Leave a Reply

